Motto: We Go, Not Ego

Executive Officers

caricature of Martine Rothblatt, CEO
caricature of Michael Benkowitz, President
caricature of James Edgemond, CFO
caricature of Paul Mahon, General Counsel

Board of Directors

caricature of Christopher Causey
caricature of Raymond Dwek
caricature of Richard Giltner

caricature of Katherine Klein
caricature of Ray Kurzweil
caricature of Nilda Mesa

caricature of JUDY OLIAN
caricature of Christopher Patusky
caricature of Martine Rothblatt, CEO

caricature of Louis Sullivan
caricature of Tommy G. Thompson

Scientific Advisory Board

Our scientific advisory board plays an important role as we aim to develop the best medicines possible from our intellectual property. Our Scientific Advisory Board meets periodically to discuss and evaluate potential opportunities and guide our scientists as they work to develop new and improved versions of our existing products.

Sir John Vane, D.Sc., F.R.S. (1927-2004)

1982 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine

Martine Rothblatt's tribute to Sir John (PDF)


Professor Baruch S. Blumberg, Ph.D. (1925-2011)

1976 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine

United Therapeutics Board Of Directors Resolution Honoring Dr. Blumberg (PDF)

Professor Raymond Dwek's Tribute to Dr. Blumberg (PDF)


Thomas E. Starzl, M.D., Ph.D. (1926-2017)

“The Father of Modern Transplantation”

Martine Rothblatt’s Tribute to Dr. Starzl (Video)

portrait of Robert C. Bourge

Robert C Bourge M.D.

  • Professor of Medicine, Radiology, and Surgery
  • Drummond Endowed Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs, Department of Medicine
  • Director, Pulmonary Vascular Disease Clinic; The University of Alabama at Birmingham
portrait of Raymond Dwek

Professor Raymond A. Dwek, F.R.S.

  • Professor of Glycobiology;
  • Director of the Glycobiology Institute; University of Oxford
portrait of Mardi Gomberg-Maitland

Mardi Gomberg-Maitland, M.D., MSc

  • Professor of Medicine, Section of Cardiology, VCU School of Medicine
  • Inova Heart and Vascular Institute
  • Director of Complex Heart Failure (Right Ventricular Failure/HFpEF/Cardio-Oncology)
  • Co-Director of the Clinical Trials Unit
portrait of Louis W. Sullivan

Hon. Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.

  • Former Secretary of United States Department of Health and Human Services
portrait of Samuel O. Thier

Samuel O. Thier, M.D

  • Professor of Medicine and Health Care Policy, Emeritus; Harvard Medical School / Massachusetts General Hospital
portrait of Sir Magdi H. Yacoub

Sir Magdi H. Yacoub, F.R.S.

  • Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery, National Heart and Lung Institute; Imperial College London